As I was sitting in my dorm room tonight finishing my homework, I decided to do a quick Google search to find out if there was anything Jane Austen in the news for our first assigned blog topic. Much to my surprise, I found out that the Jane Austen Festival is happening right now in Bath, England and will continue until September 26. If at all reasonable or remotely possible I would get on a plane and go tomorrow. Seeing as it is not, I will have to be satisfied with looking at pictures of all the lucky people who get to dress up in Regency attire, learn English country dances, and attend balls (Seriously, how cool is that?!). I always have said I would love to have been born in a Jane Austen novel until I remember the whole no modern medicine, get married when you’re 17 thing, so going to the Jane Austen Festival seems like the next best thing!

It seems like those attending the festival will have a very exciting day tomorrow with carriage and walking tours of Bath, a workshop on creating Regency style handbags, and my personal favorite, a class on how to do your hair in a Regency style. And when we are about to start class on Wednesday evening, festival goers will be returning from a day trip to Montacute House, where much of Sense and Sensibility starring Emma Thompson and Kate Winslet was filmed. Come Friday afternoon hundreds of people will gather for the annual Regency Ball for a night of music, food, and excellent company. I don’t know about you, but I’ll be jealous.

Does anyone want to go with me next year?

http://www.janeausten.co.uk/jane-austen-festival/

